This afternoon I found my mind wondering about home and what makes your home a home. Your home can be a house, an apartment or anyplace you choose to hang your hat. But what makes it a home? The family it shelters, possessions, or something else? 

For me I look back about 10 years ago, we built a new home and at this time it was just my bride and me. Our current home was nice, it was cozy and warm,  a nice place to come home too and live, but something was lacking to make it feel like a home. So we bought an acre of land in the country and built our current home. But little less than 6 years ago our house changed into a home. The changed was made by the birth of our son and the first day we brought him home from the hospital.  And since then even when he is at school the feel is unmistakable. So what prompted this thinking for me today? Well today,since I am fortunate to work close to home, I came home for lunch as normal to a house that for lack of a better word, gave me a nice warm hug.  Isn’t that what a home should do? My sweet wife had just made a large pot of spaghetti sauce and it was simmering on the stove. The house was full of its wonderful smell. My wife had also spent the morning doing the laundry and the smell of clean clothes was also in the air. The house was warm and inviting and I was looking forward to a nice lunch of left over chicken enchiladas from Saturday.

So what makes your home a home?

