So Thurs night we decided to not have the smoke bombing of the furnace done.  We chose not to for a couple of reasons. From reading on the net and talking with our heating contractor it is very obvious that there is a crack/hole whatever that is letting the exhausted air from the furnace seep into the house. The smoke bomb would have made a sulfur smell through the house and that would just be nasty for really what gain, we  would be where we are now  in the market for a new furnace.

Since the furnace is not being repaired we have used our fireplace and electric space heaters and love to keep us warm. As a parent and husband I find it hard not to feel responsible for my family being without heat or being not as comfortable as they should be. I know the furnace is not my fault but it seems my responsiblity. I guess I have a need to protect them for lack of a better word (yes it is some old school idea but it is how I feel).

So what involved in a new furnace? For someone who hasn’t had to do this before here is my thinking and reasoning behind my choices. We are country people not middle of no where, but we don’t have natural gas so heating options are; oil, propane, wood. Wood isn’t an option for us our home isn’t designed for it and it’s not practical for our life style and needs. So there are two options left, let’s have a closer look:

  • Oil: It is what we now heat with so we have a 1/2 full tank of oil, our house is plumbed for it. Some issues we have with oil, well the furnace we have only lasted 10 years, I don’t feel this is the fault of oil, but still it pisses me off, when most oil burning furnaces are going to last 20 plus years. Oil is expensive in our area, oil like most fuels is price sensitive by geographic location. Heating costs? Well our furnace is running at 80% efficiency so for every $1 of gas I’m losing .20 . New oil furnace  is going to be 85% but that still means .15. So in a heating season we would spend approx 1500 to 1700.00 to heat aour house so we lose 225.00 to 255.00 in the lack of furnace efficiency.
  • Propane: Much more work to convert to.We have a tank to have delivered and installed, old oil furnace and oi ltank to remove (oil tank also has to be drained), gas line in the home to run, certification is needed. The positive on propane is at 95% efficiency we will get more for our heating dollar, a cleaner burning fuel, the ability to add the gas stove my bride has always wanted (in a few years) and we were going to need a propane tank for the pool heater come spring.

So we have decided to go with the propane with a DC variable fan for some power saving also. We are also going to be utilizing a heating grant form Natural Resources Canada the US has a similar program. I will have more details on this when I have finished are audit on Sunday but according to the heating contractor we will get back 1550.00 in a rebate, we have to pay 350.00 for an audit so we will have 1200.00 toward the new furnace.

