Tonight thanks to Jaden Hair and her cookbook “The Steamy Kitchen” we had a nice meal. There are several recipes in this book that we plan to try, but the first two we tried out were; Thai Coconut Chicken Curry (pg103) and for dessert Coconut frozen yogurt (pg146).

Thai Coconut Chicken Curry was good, nice tasting and very easy to make, most of the ingredients are easy to get at your local grocery store in the ethnic section, with one the exception of Kaffir Lime leaves that we could not find, but it is optional ingredient. There are a couple of simple changes we would make to this recipe in the future to meet our own tastes and preferences, but this was a great recipe and we would make it again.

Coconut Frozen Yogurt… lets face facts, I don’t think I have ever had an ice cream I didn’t like, and this was no exception. It was fresh and had a nice tang from the greek yogurt, and the wonderful taste of toasted coconut.

I enjoy getting in the kitchen and cooking with my wife, this recipe didn’t give me much of a chance since it was easy and well, I was out skiing for the day and she did all the prep work for the curry and made the frozen yogurt before I got home.  My help consisted of opening cans, eating, and doing the dishes. But that was fine and the food made all of my hard work worth the effort.

