I had the most wonderful weekend. Yes to some it will be considered boring nothing special, but to me it was fun, comforting, and just enjoyable. So what made it this way.

Friday I left work  early and picked up my boy for a little Dad time, the plan was to go shopping for Christmas gifts for his Mom and Chase (the dog) and then to supper. We decided to head to Wal-Mart since what he had been talking about getting could be found there. He of course did his normal thing I have grown to love, of picking gifts for my reaction, but I could tell when he found the right one. Anyways he picked out all of the gifts he wanted for Chase, his fish and Mom, so I asked him where he wanted to eat and I named off the options that where close by.  He said he wanted to eat at home, okay not the point of the outing but I can understand why, been a tough long day at school and he wants to relax at home. As we walked from the store to the car he decides on the Big Tomato (East Side Mario’s) so we head over for dinner and get a booth. He sits across from me  and then says “Daddy I want to sit next to you”.  Could there be better words spoken? We had a nice dinner, except for the cross examination he gave me about the Big Guy, you know Mr S.

Saturday I was up early for coffee and enjoyed the quite of the early morning. Saturday is hockey in the AM and then normally shopping for groceries and then relaxing at home. Well we did all that.  Hockey was fun, we divided and conquered for groceries and were home to relax. Since it is the holiday season we are (okay my bride is ) doing baking. I enjoy baked items and enjoy helping out, but it is not my favorite, I like to cook more than bake. She made buckeye balls, and short bread and I made the first of two nostalgic recipes, confetti square. I have great memories of my Mom baking as a child and I loved to help her. I think that is where my enjoyment of cooking came from. This is a recipe that was a staple holiday item when I was a kid. It was so fun to remember this since it has been such a long since I have seen her. The rest of our day consisted of more normal stuff playing with our boy and eating supper together. My boy had his turn bringing the Advent wreath home, so we did that after supper and then the 3 of us enjoyed a little time in our hot tub. It was a nice night for it. After he went to bed we watched my new favourite Christmas movie, Christmas With the Kranks.

Sunday morning for use is normally the most relaxing day. I was up before the man and was able to do new blog headers finally, and finished up a post for Ordinary Joe. Mr Little Man is not a morning eater so when he got up he watched a couple of cartoons then ate. After that I decided to make the second nostalgic recipe, Monster cookies. This is a great recipe I remember from being a child, it wasn’t a holiday cookie but one that I enjoyed as a kid and one of the first cookie recipes I made all on my own as a boy. Definitely wonderful when my son asked what I was making and I said “monster cookies” he said “you can’t make monster cookies it’s not hallowen” I said “sure you can, are you not going to have any” and he said “NO”. As a parent you kinda have an idea of flavours and tastes your child has for me the recipe had, peanut butter and chocolate chips. need I say more. And of course the cookie monster seemed to sneak off with two or three till he got caught crumb handed. The rest of our Sunday seemed to flow by. We did manage to squeeze in a few exciting sets of family Lego Rock Band.

Yes to the outside person maybe not too exciting for a weekend, but to me great times spent in the company of the two people I love and mean the world to me. And some wonderful memories of my mother and being a young kid.

And thank you Marla for the recipes, I really appreciated them and will add them to our cook book.

