Pasta is one of the dishes that I really enjoy and also one of my wife’s and my carb addict son’s favourite meals. Being a cold and wet week I had decided on Friday night that pasta roll-up was a good Sunday dish. I also the added homemade pasta which I haven’t made since my son was born 5 years ago.

So what is a pasta roll-up? It is a pasta sheet that you coat with a filling and roll-up. This can be a simple store bought meal using prepared sauces and noodles but I tend to make sauce and make pasta for this dish but the easy way it is still great.

Pasta roll-up’s

  • 1 package frozen spinach (chopped, thawed and drained)
  • 4 cups pasta sauce
  • 1 tub Ricotta Cheese
  • 6-8 sheets of fresh pasta or lasagna noodles
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup parmesan
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 cup Mozzerella cheese

In a bowl mix spinach (squeeze it to get all the water out), ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  On 10 X 12 baking pan pour a light layer of sauce. Lay pasta sheets out on the counter if you are using lasagna noodles you need to cook them first. Spread the mixture on the noodles for lengthwise, then roll them up. Place in the pan and repeat with remainder of noodles. Pour sauce over the noodles in the pan, this is to taste, if you like sauce add more and if you like less add less. Sprinkle the nozzeralla cheese over the top and bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 min.

Let stand for 10 min to set.

Homemade pasta

  • 1 LB flour
  • 5 eggs
  • pinch of salt

Place the flour in a dish or on the counter (I tend to make a bigger mess this way so I use a bowl) make a well in the center of the flour and add the eggs and salt to this well. Beat the eggs and slowly bring the flour from the sides in slowly adding flour till it gets too thick to mix. Flour hands and turn out onto the cupboard and kneed for 3-5 min.  You are looking for it to be smooth and elastic. Wrap in plastic and chill for min 30 min. Take ball out and cut into small easy to handle pcs. Then you need to follow your pasta maker’s directions.  I tend to run the dough through several times on each thickness, to get it down to a 7 setting on my maker (about lasagna thickness). As normally you will have extra pasta, so make it and dry some of your favorite shapes for the future. Store extra pasta in air tight container.

