How many people send an email to a company using the Contact Us section of the web site? I’m sure most of us have once or several times over a year. My job requires me to source out suppliers or services, and I frequently use this as a quick means of making the first contact. I never hear a reply, sometimes you get an auto response that states we will contact you in 48 hrs, but that never comes.

Here is an example: I have a personal project that I’m looking at doing. I sent personalized letters via the Contact Us section of these company’s websites. I contacted 14 companies ranging from small to very large, and how many do you think replied…. 2! and they happened to be the smaller of the 14 companies. I got 3- your request is very important to us and we will get back to you in 24-48 hrs, and these aren’t the people who did contact me.

So a note to the  business people, marketing people, web designers, if you have no intention of using the contact us feature remove it. Sure you get a lot of tire kickers, but for a person like me that uses this to verify that the company can offer what I’m looking for before wasting time and money on a phone call, it is a great tool potentially. Plus it gives me a name and extension to call so I don’t have to fight my way through some automated attendant but that is another rant.

