Well to my surprise yesterday when I was telling a co-worker about my hornet discovery,  I was thinking that it is really different that they are in the ground, so he then went on to tell me about his neighbour and brother both of who had hornets making nests in the ground this year. He also went on to say that old farmers say that when hornets make their nest in the ground it is a sign of a hard winter to come! When telling my bride this last night she said that her mother said it was a sign of a light winter. So we have two different opinions and I wondered which is true. Okay so of course the next logical step is the net, the farmers almanac has never been wrong… or has it? I copied this from their site http://www.farmersalmanac.com/blog/2008/08/26/20-signs-of-a-hard-winter/  couple of the signs made me chuckle:

  • Thicker than normal corn husks
  • Woodpeckers sharing a tree
  • Early arrival of the Snowy owl
  • Early departure of geese and ducks
  • Early migration of the Monarch butterfly
  •  Thick hair on the nape (back) of the cow’s neck
  • Heavy and numerous fogs during August
  • Raccoons with thick tails and bright bands
  • Mice eating ravenously into the home (Isn’t this normal?)
  • Early arrival of crickets on the hearth (So does this mean inside of my fireplace? What if you don’t have a fireplace?)
  • Spiders spinning larger than usual webs and entering the house in great numbers
  • Pigs gathering sticks (Okay maybe it is just me,  or maybe I have read too many kid’s books lately, but my first thought was the big bad wolf)
  • Insects marching a bee line rather than meandering
  • Early seclusion of bees within the hive
  • Unusual abundance of acorns
  • Muskrats burrowing holes high on the river hank
  • “See how high the hornet’s nest, ‘twill tell how high the snow will rest” (and so I’m counting on a light winter with no snow since they are in the ground)
  • Narrow orange band in the middle of the Woollybear caterpillar warns of heavy snow; fat and fuzzy caterpillars presage bitter cold
  • The squirrel gathers nuts early to fortify against a hard winter
  • Frequent halos or rings around sun or moon forecast numerous snow falls.

There you go, who needs the weather network when you have Woollybear caterpillar. You can see why the farmers almanac is always right! Although it might be difficult to remember last years examples…for instance “Thicker than normal corn husks” lets face it…. who remembers what last years corn husk was like? 

On another note  the F****** resilient hornets didn’t go a way with my non chemical attempts, so I resorted to a chemical method yesterday and I will see at noon today if I have finally won the battle. The good news is that so far the only member of the family that has been stung is Sting.  Why when I’m battling these hornets do I keep having monologue from the “Bee Movie” come into my head?

 

 

